top of page

Getting ready for autumn

It’s September and you best believe that I’m gonna start decorating for fall immediately. I love every season for it’s own beauty and I love to enjoy each and everyone of them. But By the end of one I get so excited for the next one.




In life, we experience different seasons both good and bad. The bad ones are there to teach us something. They’re there to help us build our characters. The good ones are there to allow us to show gratitude for how long we’ve come. None of the two seasons last for ever, but be grateful for each in its own time.


No matter how dark it gets, trust me you are so close to a great season in your life just hold on. Pray and have God walk you through it.


What I particularly love about fall are all the delicious scents. From Apple cider to pumpkin spice and all in between. The leaves turning different colors and the crispiness in the weather. Going apple picking and visiting the pumpkin patch. Then baking apple pie and pumpkin cookies with what we picked. I can already smell the goodness. All the fun activities that’s autumn brings.


Growing up autumn was one of my least favorite seasons. For some reason I loved every season but this one. It probably had something to do with school starting. But I was always excited for Halloween. Halloween is my moms bday and we always dress up and have Halloween parties. It is so much fun.


I gotta say, i think what I’m most excited about is finally being able to ride with my windows down. Living in Arizona can be beautiful but it is unbelievably hot most of the year. Don’t get me wrong it’s still 100 degrees outside but a least it isn’t 120. I’m looking forward to the double digit weather. The cozy knitted sweaters and the longs sleeves. The long boots and the oversized shirts. The beanies and scarfs, ah fall sounds amazing.


When it comes to decorating for fall, I keep my interior decorations pretty minimal. I have a very small color palette. I like organic colors combined with white an black. I didn’t add as much decor as I wished I did but I’m happy with the way it turned out.


In Arizona not much of the leaves turn different colors, they actually start turning green after yet another hot summer. It’s when they start getting strong again.


I have a bucket list I’m working on, but I really want to do some festive activities. Lately life has been hard on me, and finding joy in the little things has become a big deal to me. I struggle with anxiety and depression, sometimes in the middle of the day I get hit with a wave of sadness but having even the smallest thing to look forward to is extremely helpful.


If you deal with any mental illness you are not alone, I get you. I’m proud of you, because I know how hard it can get some times. But hang in there, it always gets better. And trust me prayer makes all the difference.


Some of the activities in my list include going on an autumn picnic with seasonal homemade food. Spaghetti squash is my favorite seasona veggie, Its so versitle and such a nutrious meal. I cook it at least once every week of the season. I’ve always wanted to pumpkin carve but I found it so wasteful. I think I can do it this year and make pumpkin pie with them scraps and then pumpkin cookies with the rest after displaying it for a couple hours. And then roast the pumpkin seeds, they taste amazing. I’m excited about visiting a corn maze and all the fun it is and the little adrenaline rush you feel when you can’t find your way out.


This year I’m hosting thanksgiving and I’m looking forward to our bonfire, making s’mores and making so many memories. Laughing, telling stories and expressing our graditude all accompanied by a delicious feast and red wine. And of course who ever wishes to can say a prayer of gratitude at the dinner table, for yet another wonderful year full of blessings. Let’s not forget to count all the blessing around us, whether you have a job, or you started your business, or you’ve been healthy year round, if you kids, or your parents or even your grandparents. If your good at something, having amazing friends, are married or in a loving relationship. Maybe you got a promotion, or you helped someone in need. If you have a roof over you head, and food on your plate. Remember to focus on all you have and not what you don’t have. Be grateful for all of it. And you’ll fill for fullfill, and joyful.


I want to volunteer at a local food bank for the holidays, it always gives me so much joy and teaches me so much to help others. Specially those who are less fortunate. Every year I make a list of all the things that happened this year that I’m thankful for and it fills my heart. It’s such a beautiful way to end one year and start the next.


This year our county fair will be held in the fall time and I’m so excited. There is something so beautiful about fall carnivals and riding a Ferris wheel with cozy blankets. Cozy. I love county fairs, just all the activities and they way al the community gathers in one place. It just feels homey and inviting. My favorite booths to visit are definitely the snack booths, I’m from a small border town and we get the best of both worlds. We have lots of great Mexican cooks and places were to grab a delicious Mexican snack. Of course those are ones of my favorite booths to visit, but I also love the booths with fun activities that we can play. My husband and I can be very competitive when it comes to board games and stuff.


If you’d been listening for this long I just to encourage to find happiness in the little things. In the sweet smells, the delicious seasonal foods and the fun activities.


I pray that September bring you joy, lots of health and blessings!




CAC04CBF-967A-4F61-A463-AFC4C456EDE4_1_2

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Yulissa, I write about business, sustainability and lifestyle. Subscribe so you don't miss out on any post. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page